Missing Panel Windows

For any Maya specific problems

Missing Panel Windows

Postby wschil20 on Feb 23rd, '11, 14:16

This can happen when switching between computers especially with multiple monitors where screen coordinates may be different. For example, one computer may treat the left monitor as position x:0, and another computer may treat it as x:-1600.

Before posting this, I realized that professor Ken Huff already addressed this issue to his students.
Taken from the invaluable Ken Huff
There are two methods to fix this:
Method 1: Quit Maya. Delete the file, maya/version/prefs/windowPrefs.mel. Restart Maya.
Method 2: Restart Maya. Type the following in the MEL command line, followed by Enter:
Code: Select all
windowPref -removeAll;
Restart Maya.

If you permanently want to avoid this issue, go to the Window menu > Settings/Preferences > Preferences: Interface Category. Turn off Windows: Remember size and position

Another method, if you like to keep your layout except for the offscreen/missing windows, is to edit the windowPrefs.mel file and just change any large or negative values to something that is guaranteed to be on screen.
So, something like this:
Code: Select all
windowPref -topLeftCorner -1500 20 -widthHeight 700 400 -parentMain true hyperGraphPanel1Window;

would need to be changed to this:
Code: Select all
windowPref -topLeftCorner 0 20 -widthHeight 700 400 -parentMain true hyperGraphPanel1Window;
http://www.williamgs.com/
Montgomery Hall Systems Office
School of Film and Digital Media
User avatar
wschil20
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Jan 5th, '09, 17:53
Location: Savannah, GA

Re: Missing Panel Windows

Postby cbarne22 on Apr 18th, '11, 16:51

Just thought i'd let everyone know, if you'r on a windows computer and a panel is off screen, for example moving from a 2 monitor computer to a 1 monitor computer, you can select the missing window, either by the toolbar at the bottom of the screen or by alt-tabbing to it, then press the windows key and either the right or left arrow key (This moves the window in that direction). Sometimes youll have to push it a couple times to move it all the way to the current monitor. Hope that helps anyone else too.
User avatar
cbarne22
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 18th, '11, 16:46

Re: Missing Panel Windows

Postby dhernand on May 25th, '11, 08:24

what's happening is that either the main maya window or any tool/window that you open through maya opens up to the side of the screen where one can't see it to move it back to the screen. This generally happens when one shifts from a dual monitor setup to a single monitor setup. The solution to this is simple.

Once you open the window which you are unable to see, press Ctrl-space. Let go. Then press M. Let go. Then use your arrow keys on the keyboard to move the window to the left/right/up or down. You can do this on any other window too, not just the maya window.
Dan Hernandez
Systems Support
Montgomery Hall
Savannah College of Art & Design
dhernand@scad.edu
User avatar
dhernand
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 6th, '08, 15:14


Return to Maya

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron