Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Issues specific to RenderMan and the render farm.

Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Postby dhernand on Jan 26th, '16, 10:38

RENDERMAN FARM ERROR:\r\n\r\nError: (01/20 01:28) rfm Error: R12001 File renderman/library_interior_look_011/rib/job/staticGeoCache.job.zip!renderman/library_interior_look_011/rib/job/polySurfaceShape156.job.rib cannot be opened by RiReadArchive.

Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on some.
Dan Hernandez
Systems Support
Montgomery Hall
Savannah College of Art & Design
dhernand@scad.edu
User avatar
dhernand
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 6th, '08, 15:14

Re: Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Postby dhernand on Jan 26th, '16, 10:40

we have been having problems on the farm recently with renderman. What is happening is, even in simple scene like a sphere and a plane, objects raadomly disappear when rendered in random frames. The errors we get on those frames is attached above but it appears that it cannot locate the StaticGeo of the object. This problem we have found does not occor if we archive the geomerty in the scene but it shouldn't do this in the first place and I was currious if you had any ideas of how to fix this.
Attachments
frame_2_SphereDoesn'tRender.txt
(8.87 KiB) Downloaded 238 times
frame_1_RenderSucessful.txt
(8.54 KiB) Downloaded 233 times
Dan Hernandez
Systems Support
Montgomery Hall
Savannah College of Art & Design
dhernand@scad.edu
User avatar
dhernand
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 6th, '08, 15:14

Re: Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Postby dhernand on Jan 26th, '16, 10:42

We had this issue last quarter or sometime earlier. I cannot remember how/if we fixed the issue.
The staticgeo.zip is created on frame 1 so if a machine (A) on the farm has been told to render frame 2 and it occurs before another machine (B) that was told to render frame one has not completed its render then the staticgeo will not be available for frame 2. But even that might be wrong because computer B will not have access to the assets created on computer A.

Prof Malcolm Kesson


unfortunately, there is no solution to this because of the way that the renderfarm manages frames being rendered.
Dan Hernandez
Systems Support
Montgomery Hall
Savannah College of Art & Design
dhernand@scad.edu
User avatar
dhernand
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 6th, '08, 15:14

Re: Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Postby dhernand on Feb 16th, '16, 16:37

NP, If you want to avoid having to pre cache I think the solution of symlinking the renderman/<shotname> to temp will work
Dan Hernandez
Systems Support
Montgomery Hall
Savannah College of Art & Design
dhernand@scad.edu
User avatar
dhernand
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 6th, '08, 15:14

Re: Static geometry missing from many frames, but present on som

Postby jlaird21 on Feb 17th, '16, 09:58

Renderman dropping objects when rendering. The current solution is two steps, sometimes you only need to run the first step and sometimes both are required.
Step 1: Go to Render settings --> RenderMan/Ris --> Advanced tab --> RIB Options --> Check Flatten

If that doesn't fix the problem you will need to generate .rib files

Step 2: Open up the script editor and write:

rman genrib

and run this command. Sometimes this takes a few minutes and will generate your scenes .rib files. This should now solve your problem
User avatar
jlaird21
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 8th, '15, 14:27


Return to RenderMan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron